Welcome to the Metro Boston Homeland Security Region

The Metro Boston Homeland Security Region (MBHSR) is comprised of nine communities; Boston, Brookline, Cambridge, Chelsea, Everett, Quincy, Revere, Somerville, and Winthrop. Regional activities are supported with funding from the Department of Homeland Security through the Urban Areas Security Initiative (UASI) grant program. The City of Boston, Office of Emergency Management (OEM), coordinates grant program activities on behalf of the MBHSR. Some of the initiatives supported through this grant program include:

Communication Interoperability: The Region has implemented a 5-year Communications Interoperability Strategy, which has been praised by the Department of Homeland Security as a national model. These efforts have greatly enhanced the ability of first responders from regional communities, and partnering agencies, to effectively communicate during unplanned emergencies or major planned events.

DelValle Institute of Emergency Preparedness: Coordinated by the Boston Public Health Commission, the Institute has provided emergency preparedness training to over 10,000 public safety and health personnel throughout the MBHSR.

To learn more about other regional initiatives, select a strategic goal from the drop-down menu.

Permanent link to this article: http://www.mbhsr.org/?p=97